Schengen Visa Agreement

With the entry into force on 1 May 1999 of the Schengen Protocol of the Treaty of Amsterdam of 2 October 1997, Schengen cooperation was transposed into EU law, initially solely on the basis of an international agreement. ETIAS requirements generally apply to third-country nationals who do not require a visa and do not have a residence or other permit. For more details, please see the Schengen visa policy. The presidents of Serbia and Albania have signed a new agreement, called the “Mini-Schengen Agreement”, which allows passport freedom between countries and… Originally, the Schengen treaties and the rules adopted between them were officially independent of the EEC and its successor, the European Union (EU). In 1999, the Treaty of Amsterdam incorporated them into EU law, which codified Schengen into EU law and also introduced opt-outs for Ireland and the Kingdom, the latter having taken place since its withdrawal from the EU. EU Member States that do not yet have an opt-out and have not yet joined the Schengen area are legally obliged to do so if they meet the technical requirements. Although it is linked to EU legislation, several third countries are present in this region after signing the agreement. LTV holders can only enter the Schengen Member State that issued the visa. They cannot enter other Schengen countries unless they are allowed during the visa application process. Holders of a visa of territorial validity subject to the visa requirement may not enter or transit to another country, with the exception of the visa. In addition, on 30 March 2020, the European Commission published “guidelines on the implementation of temporary limitation of non-essential travel in the EU, on facilitating the transit regime for the return of EU citizens and on the impact on visa policy” to provide “advice and practical instructions”. The guidelines stipulate that Member States can take action (for example.

B that foreigners must go through a period of self-isolation upon arrival from an area affected by COVID-19) provided the same requirements are imposed on their own nationals.

About the author